AMAZON POSTED REVIEWS

Katherine M.Latimer (Bethany, CT)

Take a difficult and awesome journey into the Himalayas, December 3, 2008

Ken Hanson's book, Himalayan Portfolios, is not a coffee table book, though it is certainly a work of art. To appreciate its power, I found I needed to read it in "chapters' over several days. Ken describes the several different photography treks he took with his view camera in 5 groupings depending on the particular areas of focus. Each chapter is first of all filled with incredibly beautiful high mountain landscapes, but also Ken tells the stories of where he stood, was it dawn or dusk, how high, and the special challenges of doing this work at many thousands of feet altitude. Each chapter invites you to feel as well as see the stark reality of being in the midst of such dangerous and overwhelming landscape. The photographs that also include signs of human community surviving in such harshness are evidence of human spirit and stubborn strength and adaptability. This is a book, certainly for serious photographers, but also for people like me, who will never get to these mountains and still want to experience them without any false sentimentality.

A Magnificent Achievement, October 6, 2008

Lee A. Jacobus “Author of Volcanic Jesus” (Clinton, CT USA)

This book is the product of twenty years of dangerous travel and brilliant photography. I have seen an exhibition print from this collection and found it astounding--brilliantly photographed and just as brilliantly printed. This book holds a deep spiritual message for all photographers and as a photographer who also uses a 4 x 5 view camera I was simply knocked out by the quality of this work and the profound insight of the text that accompanies the photographs. This is one of the truly important books of landscape photography and right in the tradition of Ansel Adams and Timothy O'Sullivan. Extraordinary!

Masterful Photography combined with History, Geography and Reflections on the Sublime. September 27, 2008

Dana Osborne “Photographer” (Middlebury, CT USA)

Kenneth Hanson is a masterful fine-art photographer in the tradition of Ansel Adams.
His signed limited edition book is a comprehensive review of his visits to the Himalayas including over 100 photographs of the region taken over 20 years. as well as review of the History, Geology and Geography of the region with essays on the Philosophy of the Sublime, Himalayan Buddhism, and previous climbers and expeditions.
Included are excerpts from Victorian poets with particular reference to Wordsworth and reflections on the "Mountain Sublime".

Almost all of the photographs are landscapes with the emphasis on mountains but they include some fine portraits. Most of the photographs of the mountains reveal to this viewer some of the sense of awe which the sites themselves must inspire. This, as anyone who has tried it knows, is no mean photographic achievement.

This is a monumental work of an outstanding photographer, a scientist and a philosopher. I highly recommend it to anyone deeply interested this region or in fine-art landscape photography at its best.

Himalayan Portfolio, August 15, 2008

Tony and Tom (Norwich, CT USA)

Kenneth Hanson is a remarkable man. After spending a career as a chemist, Ken retired to trekking the Himalayas photographing the rugged landscape and its people. Himalayan Portfolios is a work of art on many levels. The photographs are at once stunningly beautiful and mysterious. The essay unfolds to reveal the iconography of the mountain ranges and all of its beauty and challenges. The book itself exhibits the careful attention to all aspects of its presentation. Ken Hanson has shared his journey and passage with all of us. This book is a treasure.

Himalayan Odyssey, August 15, 2008

Paul C. Hetzel (Springfield, Ma)

This volume of superb images and prose by Kenneth Hanson is a must for serious photographers and students of the Himalaya. His crisp,large format images are reproduced on high quality paper accompanied by narratives that attest to his passion for the area. This volume will be a classic for years to come.